Update User endpoint allows users with the "Platform management: Users" permission to update any of the following user properties:
- username (email address)
- first name
- last name
- status (
- seat type (
free, only for
Patch semantics are supported, meaning only the fields that are sent in the request are updated.
To update a user, you must be in the same organization as that user.
When updating the username (email address) of another user, that user gets an email address change confirmation email.
Only once the user has confirmed the request the new username is reflected in their account.
When a user is de-activated i.e. their
status changed from
inactive, their access to inspection data they owned or was previously shared with them ceases.
When a user is activated i.e. their
status is changed from
active, if the organization is on the Premium Plan, reactivating the user will default to a
full seat if no
seat_type is passed into the request. Activating a user in a
full seat will fail if the organization has not purchased enough
Organizations are required to have enough paid
full seats if they're changing users' seat types to
full seats. Changing seat types to
full seats when there aren't enough
full seats will be rejected, and the organization will be required to purchase more seats through the SafetyCulture platform.